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Q1: What is the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)? 
 

A: The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 is a federal law that provides covered 
employees with the right to an unpaid leave of absence for up to 12 workweeks 
within a 12-month period, in order to address certain family and medical 
responsibilities.  There is a provision expanding the leave to 26 workweeks 
during a single 12-month period to care for certain family members whose 
serious injury or illness was incurred or aggravated in the line of active military 
duty. 

 
Q2: Which employees are eligible to take FMLA leave? 
 

A: Employees are eligible for FMLA if they: 
 

1. Have been employed by the State of Georgia for a total of at least 12 months.  
The 12 months of employment are not required to be consecutive in order for 
the employee to qualify for FMLA leave.  In general, employment before a 
break in service of seven or more years is not counted, unless the break in 
service is due to an employee's fulfillment of military obligations.  
 

2. Have worked at least 1,250 hours for the State of Georgia in the 12 months 
immediately before the start date of Family and Medical Leave. 

   
3. Have a qualifying reason for the absence (as outlined in section (5) of this 

Rule).   
 

4. Have not already exhausted the available Family and Medical Leave 
entitlement for the 12-month period. 

 

 (Time worked for the State of Georgia in any employment capacity will count 
toward meeting the eligibility requirements.  Such employment includes:  full--
time, part-time, temporary, seasonal, and sporadic employment, whether paid 
on a salaried or hourly basis, and previous employment with a temporary 
services agency on assignment with the state.) 

 
Q3: Do the 1,250 hours include paid leave time or other absences from work? 
 

A. No.  The 1,250 hours includes only those hours actually worked for the employer.  
Paid leave and unpaid leave, including FMLA leave, holidays, and periods of 
suspension and furlough are not included. 
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Q4: When is an employee entitled to Family and Medical Leave? 
 

A: Eligible State employees are entitled to up to 12 workweeks of unpaid leave 
during a rolling 12-month period measured backward from the date an employee 
uses any Family and Medical Leave, for any one or combination of the following 
reasons: 

 

 For the birth and care of the newborn child of the employee within 12 months 
of the child’s birth; 

 When a child under the age of 18 is placed with an employee for adoption or 
foster care (leave is available for preliminary activities required for the 
placement and during the first 12 months after placement); 

 To care for a spouse, child, or parent (not including in-laws) with a serious 
health condition; 

 When the employee is unable to work because of his or her own serious 
health condition; 

 For any qualifying exigency arising out of the employee’s spouse, child, or 
parent (not including in-laws) being deployed, or on notice of upcoming 
deployment, to a foreign country as a member of the regular Armed Forces or 
as a result of a federal call to active National Guard or Reservist military duty 
in support of a contingency operation (typically during a war or declared 
national emergency).  

 
An eligible employee is entitled to take up to 26 workweeks of Family and 
Medical Leave during a single 12-month period to care for a covered service 
member undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, therapy, or outpatient 
services, or who is otherwise on the temporary disability retired list, for a serious 
injury or illness received or aggravated in the line of active military duty.   

 
Q5: How much leave is an employee entitled to under FMLA? 
 

A: If an employee meets the eligibility criteria, he or she will be entitled to up to 12 
workweeks of leave during a 12-month period for most types of Family and 
Medical Leave, or up to 26 workweeks if leave is taken to care for a covered 
service member. 
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Q6: Do employees have to specifically request FMLA leave in order to be 
entitled to it? 

 
A: No.  Employees seeking FMLA leave need not specifically ask for it.  The 

responsibility of the employee is to give the employer enough information to 
determine if the leave falls within FMLA eligibility.  At that point, it is the 
employer’s obligation to inquire further in order to decide whether the leave truly 
is covered or not. 

 
It is often misunderstood that FMLA is like an accrual that may be “banked” and 
used at the employee’s discretion.  Actually, FMLA allows (and arguably 
requires) an employer to designate qualifying leave as FMLA-covered even 
though an employee may not want to “use” FMLA leave. 

 
Q7: What is the relationship between FMLA and Workers’ Compensation 

Programs? 
 

A: Employee rights under the FMLA and Workers’ Compensation are concurrent.  
Therefore, an employee with an on-the-job injury that also qualifies as a serious 
health condition may receive benefits under both the FMLA and state Workers’ 
Compensation laws simultaneously.  However, employees cannot receive 
Workers’ Compensation wage loss benefits and paid FMLA leave concurrently.  
If an employee receives Workers’ Compensation wage loss benefits, the 
employee cannot use accrued paid leave during this period of FMLA leave.  

 
Q8: May an employee take FMLA leave “intermittently”? 
 

A: An eligible employee is entitled to take FMLA leave intermittently in separate 
blocks of time, rather than as a continuous absence, or as a reduced work 
schedule as follows: 

 
1. When such is certified as medically necessary for a serious health condition 

of the employee, spouse, child, or parent; 
 

2. When certified as medically necessary to care for a covered service 
member’s serious injury or illness; 

 

3. For a qualifying exigency arising out of a spouse’s, child’s, or parent’s military 
duty; 

 

4. When required for preliminary activities needed for an adoption or foster care 
placement to proceed.   
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State employers can choose to allow their eligible employees to use FMLA 
leave on an intermittent or reduced schedule basis for other reasons, such as to 
care for a healthy newborn or newly placed child. 

 
Employees are expected to work with their employer to schedule intermittent 
leave, when possible, so that it does not unduly disrupt work operations.  In some 
instances, the employer may elect to assign the employee to a temporary 
alternative position with equivalent pay and benefits that better accommodates 
the employee’s intermittent or reduced leave schedule. 

 
Q9: How soon after an employee provides notice of the need for leave must an 

employer determine whether the individual is eligible for FMLA leave? 
 

A. Absent extenuating circumstances, an employer must notify an employee of 
whether the employee is eligible to take FMLA leave (and, if not, at least one 
reason why the employee is ineligible) within five (5) business days of the 
employee requesting leave or the employer learning that an employee’s leave 
may be for a FMLA-qualifying reason.   

 
Along with the eligibility notice, the employer provides a notice of FMLA rights 
and responsibilities.  Both notices can be combined into one document, and a US 
Department of Labor template may be used for this purpose.  The rights and 
responsibilities notice is to include: 
 

 A statement that the time off may count against the employee’s FMLA 
entitlement if the reason for the leave qualifies for FMLA protection; 

 Any requirement for the employee to furnish certification for the leave and 
the consequences for not doing so; 

 The employee’s right to use paid leave during the absence and whether 
the agency will require use of available paid leave; 

 The employee’s right to maintain benefits, any requirement for the 
employee to make premium payments to maintain health benefits, the 
arrangements for making payments during leave without pay, and possible 
consequences for not making payment; 

 The employee’s potential liability for payment of health insurance 
premiums paid by the employer during unpaid FMLA if the employee fails 
to return to work after FMLA leave; 

 The employee’s status as a key employee, if applicable; and, 
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 The employee’s right to restoration to the same or equivalent job at the 
end of FMLA leave. 

 
If the leave has already begun, the notice should be mailed to the employee’s 
address on record. 

 
Q10: How soon after an employee provides notice of his/her need for leave must 

an employer notify the employee that the leave will be designated and 
counted as FMLA leave? 

 
A. When the employer has enough information to determine whether the leave 

qualifies as FMLA (e.g., after receiving a certification), the employer must notify 
the employee whether the leave will be designated and will be counted as FMLA 
leave within five (5) business days absent extenuating circumstances. 

 
Q11: What information does the employer need to provide the employee in the 

designation notice? 
 

A. Employers must provide written notice to the employee that designates a leave 
as FMLA leave.  This notice would include the following: 

 

 That the leave will be counted against the employee’s 12-workweek FMLA 
entitlement, or 26-workweek leave entitlement in the case of military caregiver 
leave; 

 

 The employee’s right to elect to use paid leave for unpaid FMLA leave, 
whether the employer will require the use of paid leave, and the conditions 
relating to using paid leave; 

 

 Any requirement for presenting a fitness-for-duty certification before returning 
to the job; 

 
Additionally, if the amount of leave needed is known, an employer must inform an 
employee of the number of hours, days, or weeks that will be counted against the 
employee’s FMLA leave entitlement.  Where it is not possible to provide the 
number of hours, days, or weeks that will be counted as FMLA leave in the 
designation notice (e.g., where the leave will be unscheduled and taken as 
needed medically), an employer must provide this information upon request by 
the employee, but no more often than every 30 days and only if leave was taken 
during that period. 
 
If the leave has already begun, the notice should be mailed to the employee’s 
address on record. 
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Q12: If an employer fails to tell an employee timely that leave has been 
designated as FMLA leave, can the employer count the leave against the 
employee’s FMLA leave entitlement? 

 
A. Retroactive designation is permitted if an employer fails to timely designate 

and/or notify the employee that leave will be counted as FMLA leave, but only 
under two circumstances.  First, an employee and employer may agree at any 
time to retroactively designate an absence as FMLA-protected.  Second, the 
employer may retroactively designate leave as FMLA-protected upon giving the 
appropriate notice to the employee, if the retroactive designation would not cause 
harm to the employee.  The employer would not be able to retroactively 
designate FMLA leave, however, if the employee can show harm or injury as a 
result of the untimely designation.  

 
EXAMPLE:  An employee plans to take 12 workweeks of FMLA leave 
beginning in August for the birth of his child.  Earlier in the leave 
year, however, the employee took two workweeks of annual leave to 
care for his mother following her hospitalization for a serious health 
condition.  The employee’s employer failed to notify him at the time of 

his mother’s hospitalization that the time spent caring for his mother would be 
counted as FMLA leave.  If the employee can establish that he would have made 
other arrangements for the care of his mother if he had known that the time 
would be counted against his FMLA entitlement, the two weeks his employer 
failed to appropriately designate may not count against his FMLA entitlement.  

The same employee could not claim that the retroactive designation caused him 
harm if his first absence was because he himself was medically unable to work, 
rather than caring for someone else.  The reason why he could not claim harm is 
because the employee in this case did not have a choice to come to work and 
save his FMLA for a future absence; he was medically unable to work and had to 
take the time off. 

     
Q13: Can the employer count leave taken due to pregnancy complications 

against the 12 workweeks of FMLA leave for the birth and care of a child? 
 

A. Yes.  An eligible employee is entitled to a total of 12 workweeks of FMLA leave in 
a 12-month period.  If the employee has to use some of that leave for another 
reason, including a difficult pregnancy, it may be counted as part of the 12-
workweek FMLA leave entitlement. 

 
Q14: How much notice must an employee give before taking FMLA leave? 
 

A. When the need for leave is foreseeable, such as when it is based on an expected 
birth, placement for adoption or foster care, or planned medical treatment, an 
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employee must give at least 30 days’ notice.  If 30 days’ notice is not possible, an 
employee is required to provide notice “as soon as practicable” (that is to say, 
both possible and practical).  The regulations clarify that it should be practicable 
for an employee to provide notice of the need for foreseeable leave either the 
same day or the next business day after the employee learns of the need for 
leave.  But, the determination of when an employee could practicably provide 
notice will always be based on the particular facts and circumstances.  When the 
need for FMLA leave arises suddenly, and the absence is unplanned, the 
employer may require the employee to follow customary call-in procedures. 

 
Q15: What information must an employee give when providing notice of the 

need for FMLA leave? 
 

A. When an employee seeks leave for the first time for an FMLA-qualifying reason, 
the employee does not need to specifically assert his or her rights under the 
FMLA, or even mention the FMLA.  The employee must, however, provide 
“sufficient information” to make the employer aware of the need for FMLA leave 
and the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. 

 
Depending on the situation, “sufficient information” may include that the 
employee has been to the doctor multiple times for a condition that incapacitated  
the employee for more than 3 days in a row; that the employee is pregnant or 
has been hospitalized overnight; whether the employee or the employee’s family 
member is under the continuing care of a health care provider; that a spouse, 
parent, or child is on active duty in a foreign country and that the requested leave 
is needed because of this deployment; that a medical condition renders a 
spouse, parent, or child unable to perform daily activities; or that a family 
member is a covered service member with a serious injury or illness. The 
employee must also provide the anticipated duration of the absence, if known. 

 
Where an employee seeks leave due to a FMLA-qualifying reason for which the 
employer has previously provided FMLA-protected leave, the employee must 
either specifically state the qualifying reason for leave or the need for FMLA 
leave. 

 
Q16: What information may an employer request regarding an employee’s 

medical condition? 
 

A. Employers may request a complete and sufficient medical certification that 
documents the basis for an employee’s request, the period for which leave is 
being requested, and the anticipated return to work date. 

 
 Employers must comply with the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act 
 (GINA), and, therefore, may not request ‘genetic Information,’ including family 
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 medical history.  An exception applies that allows employers to request the 
 medical facts of a family member’s condition when an employee is asking for 
 FMLA leave to care for that family member. 
 
Q17: How soon after an employee requests leave must an employer request 

medical certification of a serious health condition? 
 

A. In most cases, an employer should request medical certification at the time an 
employee gives notice of the need for leave or within five business days.  If the 
leave is unforeseen, the employer should request medical certification within five 
days after the leave begins.  An employer may request certification at a later date 
if it has reason to question the appropriateness or duration of the leave. 

 
Q18: How long does an employee have to return the completed medical 

certification? 
 

A: An employee has 15 calendar days from the date of request to return the 
completed medical certification. 

 
Q19: What happens if an employer determines that the medical certification is 

incomplete? 
 

A. An employer must advise the employee if it finds the certification is incomplete 
and allow the employee a reasonable opportunity to cure the deficiency.  The 
employer must state in writing what additional information is necessary to make 
the certification complete and sufficient.  An employee is then entitled to at least 
seven (7) calendar days to cure the deficiency, unless seven days is not 
practicable under the particular circumstances despite the employee’s diligent 
good faith efforts. 

 
Q20: May an employer contact an employee’s healthcare provider to discuss the 

employee’s serious health condition? 
 

A. Employers may contact an employee’s healthcare provider for authentication or 
clarification of the medical certification without the need of receiving permission 
from the employee.  An employer may confirm with the healthcare provider that 
the information on the certification was completed or authorized by the provider 
who signed, and may request clarification of the handwriting or meaning of a 
response.  Employers may not directly ask healthcare providers for information 
beyond that contained on the certification form, unless they seek written 
authorization from the employee.   

 
Employer contact may be made only by a healthcare provider, a Human 
Resources professional, a leave administrator, or a management official.  In no 
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case may the employee’s direct supervisor contact the employee’s 
healthcare provider.  

 
Q21: May employers require employees to execute a medical release as part of 

the medical certification process? 
 

A. No.  An employer may not require an employee to sign a release or waiver as 
part of the medical certification process.  The regulations specifically state that 
completing any such authorization is at the employee’s discretion.  Whenever an 
employer requests a medical certification, however, it is the employee’s 
responsibility to provide the employer with a complete and sufficient certification.  
If an employee does not provide either a complete and sufficient certification or 
an authorization allowing the healthcare provider to provide a complete and 
sufficient certification to the employer, the employee's request for FMLA leave 
may be denied. 

 
Q22: How often may an employer ask for medical certifications for an on-going 

serious health condition? 
 

A. An employer can ask an employee, who is on leave, for recertification every 30 
days unless the employee has previously submitted medical certification that the 
condition will last for more than 30 days.  If an employee’s condition has been 
certified to last more than 30 days, the employer may not request a recertification 
until that specified period has passed, unless the period is longer than six months 
(in the case of intermittent leave).  An employer may always request 
recertification every six months in connection with an absence by the employee.  
An employer may also request recertification before 30 days have passed if the 
employee requests an extension of leave, the circumstances described in the 
previous certification have changed significantly, or if the employer receives 
information that casts doubt upon the employee’s stated reason for the absence 
or the continuing validity of the certification. 

 
Q23: May employers require employees to submit a fitness-for-duty certification 

before returning to work after being absent due to a serious health 
condition? 

 
A. Yes.  An employer may have a uniformly applied policy or practice that requires 

all similarly situated employees who take leave for their own serious health 
condition to submit a certification from the employee’s healthcare provider that 
the employee is able to resume work.  An employer may require that the fitness-
for-duty certification address the employee’s ability to perform the essential 
functions of the position if the employer has appropriately notified the employee 
in the initial designation notice that this information will be required and has 
provided a list of essential functions.   
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Additionally, an employer may require a fitness-for-duty certification up to once 
every 30 days for an employee taking intermittent or reduced schedule FMLA 
leave if the condition for which leave is being taken creates a reasonable safety 
concern regarding the employee’s ability to perform his or her duties. 
 
Typically, an employer should not require fitness-for-duty certification before 
allowing an employee to return to work following childbirth.  An exception applies 
if an employee returns to work before the date of medical release on a previously 
documented healthcare provider certification. 

 
Q24: What happens if an employee does not submit a requested certification? 
 

A. If an employee fails to timely submit complete and sufficient certification to 
support the use of FMLA leave (absent diligent, good faith efforts to do so), 
FMLA protection for the leave may be delayed or denied.  If an employee fails to 
submit a properly requested fitness-for-duty certification, the employer may delay 
job restoration until the employee provides the certification.  If the employee 
never provides the certification, he or she may be denied reinstatement. 

 
Q25: Does Workers’ Compensation leave count against an employee’s FMLA 

leave entitlement? 
 

A. It can.  FMLA leave and Workers’ Compensation leave can run together, 
provided the on-the-job accident/illness qualifies as a serious health condition 
under the FMLA. 

 
Q26: How do holidays affect FMLA leave? 
 

A. If a holiday falls within a full week of Family and Medical Leave, then it counts 
toward the Family and Medical Leave entitlement as if it were a workday.  If a 
holiday falls within a week during which an employee used Family and Medical 
Leave for only part of the week, then the holiday does not count toward the 
Family and Medical Leave entitlement. 

 
Q27: Can we require employees to return to work before they have exhausted 

their FMLA leave? 
 

A. Eligible employees who have properly requested and certified the need for FMLA 
leave are entitled to be absent for the period during which they have a qualifying 
reason for the absence up to a maximum of 12 workweeks in a 12-month period 
(or 26 workweeks for Military Caregiver FMLA leave).  If an employee is using 
FMLA leave during an absence covered by Workers’ Compensation, an 
employer may offer a light duty assignment in accordance with the state’s 
Return-to-Work program.  If the employee declines, and the absence continues 
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to qualify as a FMLA-covered serious health condition, the employer cannot 
require the employee to return to accept the light duty.  The employee’s Workers’ 
Compensation wage loss benefits may, however, be jeopardized.  

 
Q28: Are there any restrictions on how an employee spends his or her time while 

on designated FMLA leave? 
 

A. State Personnel Board Rule 16 – Absence from Work provides that employees 
must have written authorization from the agency before accepting other 
employment or engaging in self-employment while on an authorized leave of 
absence.  Otherwise, the employer may not restrict an employee’s activities.  The 
protections of FMLA will not, however, cover situations where the reason for 
leave no longer exists, where the employee has not provided required notices or 
certifications, or where the employee has misrepresented the reason for leave. 

  
Q29: Can an employer deny an employee’s request for FMLA leave?  
 

A. If an individual is an “eligible” employee with a qualifying reason and has met 
FMLA’s notice and certification requirements (and has not exhausted FMLA 
leave entitlement for the year), the employer may not deny the FMLA leave. 

 
Q30: Can an employer fire someone for taking FMLA leave? 
 

A. Generally, no.  It is unlawful for any employer to interfere with or restrain or deny 
the exercise of any right provided under the FMLA.  Employers cannot use the 
taking of FMLA leave as a negative factor in employment decisions.  An 
employee may be disciplined, however, for fraudulently taking FMLA leave. 

 
Q31: Are there other circumstances in which an employer can or should deny 

FMLA leave or reinstatement? 
 

A.  Yes.  A “key employee” (i.e., a salaried employee among the highest-paid 10% of 
the employer’s total workforce) may be denied reinstatement if the employer 
determines that reinstatement would cause substantial and grievous economic 
injury to its operations, and the employee was given the proper notice and failed 
to return to work by the timeframe identified in such notice. 

 
Employers are not required to continue FMLA benefits or reinstate employees 
who would have been laid off or otherwise had their employment terminated had 
they continued to work during the FMLA leave.  

 
Employees who give unequivocal notice that they do not intend to return to work 
lose their entitlement to reinstatement. 
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Employees who are unable to return to work and have exhausted their 12 
workweeks of FMLA leave in the designated “12 month period” (or 26 workweeks 
of Military Caregiver FMLA leave) no longer have the FMLA protections of leave 
or job restoration.  Under certain circumstances, employers who advise 
employees experiencing a serious health condition that they will require a 
medical certificate of fitness–for-duty to return to work, may deny reinstatement 
to an employee who fails to provide the certification, or may delay reinstatement 
until the certification is submitted. 

 
Q32: What happens when an employee exhausts FMLA leave but is still not fit to 

return to regular duty?  

A. A situation may arise where an employee has exhausted the 12 weeks of FMLA 

leave but is not medically cleared to return to work.  Employers should interact 

with the employee to determine whether the employee’s medical condition rises 

to the level of a disability as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, as 

amended, (ADAAA) and if so, if there is a reasonable accommodation available. 

Such reasonable accommodation may include, but is not limited to, additional 

time off or working part-time.    

 
Q33: What is the next step to take when an employee with a disability requests 

 additional leave after exhausting Family and Medical Leave, but it has been 
determined that  the agency cannot hold the position open any longer 
because of undue hardship?  

 
A. Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, as amended, (ADAAA) a qualified 

employee with a disability is entitled to return to the same job unless the 

employer demonstrates that holding the job open would impose an undue 

hardship.  When an eligible employee exhausts FMLA leave, the employee may 

request additional time to return to work under ADAAA even after the employer 

has communicated that it cannot hold the employee's job open any longer (i.e., 

undue hardship).  In this situation, the employer must determine if it has a 

vacant, equivalent position for which the employee is qualified and to which the 

employee can be reassigned to continue his/her leave, without undue hardship to 

the employer.  If an equivalent position is not available, the employer must look 

for a vacant position at a lower level, without undue hardship.  Continued 

accommodation is not required if a vacant position is not available. 
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Q34: How can an employer determine whether an employee is entitled to FMLA 

leave for a child for whom the employee stands in loco parentis?   

A. Employees may be found to be standing in loco parentis if they provide day-to-

day care and/or financial support for a child.  As a general rule, the more day-to-

day responsibilities and/or financial support an employee provides for the child, 

the more likely he or she qualifies for FMLA leave to care for that child.  

An employee who substitutes for or shares in the raising of a child with the child’s 

biological or legal parent is entitled to leave for the child’s birth, adoption, care, or 

military-related Family and Medical Leave.  For example, a grandparent, family 

friend, or unmarried partner (including a same-sex partner) may fall into this 

category, so long as they provide day-to-day care and/or financial support for the 

child.  The fact that the employee has no legal relationship to the child should not 

be considered when administering the FMLA.  Also note that an employee make 

take leave to care for a person who once stood in loco parentis to the employee.  

An employer may require an employee to provide reasonable documentation to 

support in loco parentis status.  The Department of Labor has indicated that the 

burden on the employee to provide documentation is light – a simple statement 

asserting that such a family relationship exists will be enough.  If you wish to 

require more stringent documentation we recommend you consult with your legal 

counsel before doing so.  

Q35: Does it matter how many parents a child has under FMLA?  

A. There is nothing in the FMLA statute or regulations that restricts or limits the 

number of parents a child may have under FMLA.  A common example is when a 

child’s biological parents divorce and each parent remarries – in this situation the 

child would be the “son or daughter” of all four parents, the two biological parents 

and the two stepparents.  

Q36: How does the FMLA treat Same-Sex Marriages?  

A. The same as other lawful marriages.  Beginning June 26, 2015, state employees 

in lawful same-sex marriages, who are otherwise eligible for FMLA, have full 

FMLA rights for qualifying absences for their spouses.   
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Q37: How does the FMLA treat Common-Law Marriages?  

A. Even though Georgia does not recognize common law marriages entered into on 
or after January 1, 1997, under the regulations, if an employee entered into a 
common law marriage in a jurisdiction which DOES recognize such marriages, 
Georgia employers are required to extend Family and Medical Leave for 
qualifying absences related to the common law spouse. 
 

Q38: May an employee take FMLA leave to care for their adult child with a 

serious health condition? 

A. There are four requirements that must be met before an employee will be eligible 

to take FMLA leave to care for an adult child 18 years of age or older.  The adult 

child must (1) have a disability as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, 

as amended, (ADAAA); (2) be incapable of self-care due to that disability; (3) 

have a serious health condition; and (4) be in need of care due to the serious 

health condition during the period of the requested leave.  The ADAAA 

broadened the scope of “disability,” allowing for a number of conditions to meet 

the first prong of the adult child leave criteria.  “Incapable of self-care” means that 

the adult child requires active assistance or supervision to perform three or more 

daily living activities, including but not limited to, caring appropriately for one’s 

grooming and hygiene, bathing, dressing, eating, cooking, cleaning, shopping, 

taking public transportation, paying bills, maintaining a residence, using 

telephones and directories, using a post office, etc.  Because serious health 

conditions can involve episodic impairment, it is important to seek information 

from the attending healthcare provider to determine the current effect of the 

condition and whether the adult child needs assistance during the period of 

requested leave. 

The age of the adult child at onset of a disability or serious health condition is not 

relevant in determining whether the individual is an “adult child” for whose care 

the employee may take FMLA leave.  Thus, an employee’s child need not have 

had the disability or serious health condition before reaching adulthood, rather, 

the adult child may develop a disability or serious health condition later in life.  

 


