
 
 

 
 

What is Supplemental Pay 

Firefighters and law enforcement officers who are 
physically disabled, but not permanently disabled, 
from an in the line of duty injury, may apply for 
supplemental compensation pay from the 
Indemnification Program.  Applications must be 
received by the Department of Administrative 
Services (DOAS) from the injured person within 60 
days from the date of the incident resulting in 
disability.  See O.C.G.A. 45-9-103. 

The monthly supplemental benefit pays an amount 
that equals the officer’s monthly gross salary, minus 
deductions for state income tax withholdings, and 
FICA tax withholdings.  Supplemental pay is 
subordinate to workers' compensation and other 
compensation benefits from the employer and is 
available for a total of 12 months.  See O.C.G.A. 45-
9-102 

The supplemental pay benefit only applies to law 
enforcement officers and firefighters. DOAS will 
require a complete copy of the workers' 
compensation record, evidence of disability, and 
additional records associated with such sources of 
compensation. 

Submit an Application 

The application for benefits must be completed and 
sent to DOAS within 60 days of the incident resulting 
in disability. An application can be obtained at 
www.doas.ga.gov or by calling 404.656-6245.   

Appeals 

If DOAS denies your application for 
benefits, you may appeal.  All appeals 
must be in writing and received by DOAS 
within 60 days of receiving your written 
notice of denial from DOAS.  See 
O.C.G.A. 45-9-102(g). 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This information is intended to serve only as 
a summary overview of the Indemnification 
Program. For specific information please 

refer to the Official Code of Georgia 
(O.G.C.A) Section 45-9. 
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Georgia State Law, O.C.G.A. 45-9-80 authorizes 
the payment of a financial benefit to certain public 
safety employees who are disabled or killed in the 
line of duty. 

 
 

The State of Georgia recognizes the unique 
hazards inherent in certain public safety 
occupations. This led to the General Assembly to 
establish the Georgia State Indemnification 
Program. 
The program provides a financial benefit for the 
designated public officers who are disabled or killed 
in the line of duty. Benefits under the Indemnification 
fund include payments for supplemental income, 
partial permanent disability, total permanent 
disability, and for death. Eligible public officers 
include law enforcement officers, firefighters, prison 
guards (publicly employed), POST certified 
community supervision officers, emergency medical 
technicians, emergency management rescue 
specialist, state highway employees (H.E.R.O. 
Unit), and (Active) members of the Georgia National 
Guard and State Defense force when called into 
service by the Governor.  See O.C.G.A 45-9-81 for 
definitions. 

Payments are made through the Georgia State 
Indemnification Fund which is overseen by the 
Georgia Department of Administrative Services 
(DOAS); all applications are processed and 
investigated by DOAS. 
 
DOAS shall review all applications.  Applications will 
be approved or denied by DOAS. After determining 
that the injured person or surviving unremarried 
spouse, children, and/or dependent is entitled to the 
financial benefit, DOAS will authorize and oversee 
payment of benefits. Denied applications may be 
appealed in writing to DOAS within 60 days of 
receiving a written notice of denial. Appeals will be 
reviewed by the DOAS Commissioner or his/her 
designee.  
  

 

Benefits 

In the case of partial permanent disability, the 
current benefit is $35,000.00. The eligible person 
may elect payment of $583.33 paid in equal 
monthly installments for five years or a lump sum 
of said amount reduced to its present value upon 
the basis of interest calculated at the rate of 6% 
per annum. 

In the case of total permanent disability, the 
current benefit amount is $75,000.00. The eligible 
person may elect to receive a payment of 
$1,250.00 paid in equal monthly installments for 
five years or a lump sum of such amount reduced 
to its present value upon the basis of interest 
calculated at the rate of 6% per annum. 

In the case of death or organic brain damage the 
current benefit is capped at $150,000.00. 
Payment shall be made to the surviving 
unremarried spouse, the surviving children who 
are under the age of 19 or, if a student enrolled in 
an institution of postsecondary education at the 
time of such death, under the age of 24; or 
individuals not otherwise provided for under this 
subparagraph who are the dependents of the 
spouse or deceased person’s most recent tax 
return. The designated person may elect to receive 
payment up to $2,500.00 paid in equal monthly 
installments for five years or a lump sum of such 
amount reduced to its present value upon the 
basis of interest calculated at the rate of 6% per 
annum. 

 

What Constitutes Partial Permanent 
Disability  

 
According O.C.G.A. 45-9-81(9), 
permanent disability means disability 
that precludes employment specifically 
due to: 
(A) Loss of the use of one eye or blindness in 
one eye with only light perception; 
(B) Loss of one hand; 
(C) Loss of one leg; 
or 
(D) Loss of a lower extremity or the residual effect 
of an organic disease or injury which so affects 
the function of balance or propulsion as to preclude 
locomotion without the use of a wheelchair for all 
but very short distances. 

What Constitutes Total Permanent 
Disability 

According to O.C.G.A 45-9-81(12), permanent 
disability means disability that precludes 
employment specifically due to: 
(A) Loss of both eyes or blindness in both eyes 
with only light perception; 
(B) Loss or loss of use in both hands 
(C) Loss or loss of use of both legs; 
(D) Loss of a lower extremity or the residual effect of  

   an organic disease or injury which so affects the  
   functions of balance or propulsion as to preclude  
   locomotion without resort to a wheelchair at all times; or      

(E) Organic brain damage.   

Who is Eligible? 

The financial benefits are available to law 
enforcement officers, firefighters, prison guards, 
publicly employed emergency medical technicians, 
POST certified community service officers, 
emergency management rescue specialists, state 
highway employees (H.E.R.O Unit), and members of 
the Georgia organized militia when called into active 
state service by the Governor for law enforcement 
purposes. 

Submit an Application 

The application for benefits must be completed and 
sent to DOAS. An application can be obtained at 
www.doas.ga.gov or by calling 404-656-6245. 
Applications must be submitted within 24 months 
from the date on which the accident occurred. In 
the case of death, the application must be completed 
by the surviving unremarried spouse or dependents. 
In the case of permanent disability, the eligible 
recipient must file the application. I f  t h e  
e l i g i b l e  person is mentally incompetent, a 
parent, spouse, or legally authorized individual may 
file the application on their behalf. 

Appeals 

Denied applications may be appealed in writing 
within to DOAS.  Appeals must be received within 60 
days of receiving a written notice of denial from 
DOAS. Appeals will be reviewed by the DOAS 
Commissioner or his/her designee. 


