Employee Eligibility .

An employee is eligible to participate in the Flexible Benefits Program if the employee is:

a full-time regular employee who works at least thirty (30) hours a week and is expected to work for at
least nine (9) months.

a public schoolteacher, working at least 17.5 hours, and employed in a professionally certified capacity.

in a local school system holding a non-certificated position. You must be eligible to participate in the
Teachers Retirement System (TRS) or its local equivalent, and you must work a minimum of 20 hours a
week (or 60% of the time necessary to carry out the duties of the position, if that's more than 20 hours).
in a local school system working at least 15 hours (or 60% of the time necessary to carry out the duties
of your position, if that's more than 15 hours) and you are eligible to participate in the Public School
Employees’ Retirement System (PSERS), as defined by Paragraph 20 of Section 47-4-2 of the Georgia Code.
in a county or regional library and works at least 17.5 hours per week.

in an organization deemed eligible by Federal or Georgia law.

NOTE: The term Employee does not include students (unless a student is also a full-time Employee);
part-time employees; contingent workers of the Labor Department; employees who are working on

a temporary, seasonal, or intermittent basis; or employees working in a sheltered workshop operated
by a county department of family and children services, mental health subdivision, or other employing
entities.

Once an employee is deemed eligible to participate in the Flexible Benefits Program, they will have a 30 calendar
day window to complete their enrollment.

Welcome!

This is the place to learn about your benefits and take action.

Access Mobile Site
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Dependent Eligibility
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A dependent of an employee

is eligible to participate in the

Flexible Benefits Program if the

dependent is:

¢ a legal spouse as defined by
within the meaning set forth

in 1 US.C. §7. ome each State 2rves Fle: Jenefits LifeEvent:.';

¢ a dependent child who is
under age 26, Certify the Eligibility of Your Dependent

e a dependent child who is By choosing Continue below, you certify that the information about your dependent's eligibility is true
age 26 or older, and who is and corract.
incapable of self-sustaining The definition of child eligibility:
employment by reason of = Your natural child for whom you have not relinguished all guardianship rights through a judicial
mental incapacity or physical decree. Eligibility begins at birth and ends at the end of the manth in which the child reaches age
disability =8

= Your stepchild. Eligibility begins on the date of legal placement for adoption and ends at the end

of the month in which the child reaches age 26.
NOTE: The term Dependent = Your adopted child. Eligibility begins on the date of your marniage to the natural parent. Eligibility

Child is defined as the natural ends at the end of the month in which the child reaches age 26, or at the end of the month in

or |ega||y adopted child of the which you and vour spouse get divorced, whichever is earlier.

employee or their Iegal spouse. = Guardianship. A child for whom you are the legal guardian. Eligibility begins on the date the legal
: guardianship is established. Eligibility ends at the end of the month in which the child reaches age

When a dependel:]t child 26, or at the end of the month in which the legal guardianship terminates, whichever is earlier.

turns age 26/ their coverage Certification documentation requirements are at the discretion of the Administrator. However, 3

will terminate the end of the judicial decree is required unless the Administrator concludes that documentation is satisfactory to

month of their birthday establish legal guardianship.

= Totally Disabled Child. This must be your natural child, legally adopted child ar stepchild age 26
or older, who became physically or mentally disabled before age 26.

Certify the Eligibility of Your Dependent

By choosing Continue below, you certify that the information about your dependent's eligibility is true
and correct.

The definition of spouse eligibility: A person who is legally recognized as the covered employee "s
husband or wife.

Penalties for Misrepresentation

If a Flexible Benefits participant misrepresents eligibility information when applying for coverage,
during change of coverage or when filing for benefits, the Flexible Benefits program may take adverse
action against the participants, including but not limited to terminating coverage (for the participant
and his or her dependents) or imposing liability to the Flexible Benefits program for fraud or
indemnification (requiring payment for benefits to which the participant or his or her beneficiaries were
not entitled). Penalties may include a lawsuit, which may result in payment of charges to the Plan or
criminal prosecution in a court of law. In order to avoid enforcement of the penalties, the participant
must notify the Flexible Benefits program immediately if a dependent is no longer eligible for coverage
or if the participant has questions or reservations about the eligibility of a dependent. This policy may
be enforced to the fullest extent of the law.

M1 Agree




Eligibility Verification Process

Dependent(s) added to an employee’s coverage may be required to verify the dependent(s) eligibility. If verification
is required, the employee will receive a letter and verification form for completion. If the employee is requested to
complete verification but fails to provide the required documentation within the specified timeframe, the dependent’s
coverage will be terminated prospectively and no refund given.

NOTE: The State Health Benefit Plan operates independent of the Flexible Benefits Program. As a result, an employee
may receive a separate request for similar information for their health plan verification. The Flexible Benefits Program
does, however, collaborate electronically with the health plan to obtain eligibility verification prior to making a
separate request.

Required Verification Documents, if requested:

Spouse
¢ Copy of certified marriage certificate OR copy of your most recent Federal Tax Return (filed jointly with spouse).

Natural or Adopted Child
e Copy of certified birth certificate, for child(ren) up to age 26, listing parents by name OR a letter of confirmation of
birth or newborns. Birth cards without parent information are not acceptable.

Stepchild

e Copy of certified birth certificate, for child(ren) up to age 26, showing your spouse is the natural parent; AND a
copy of certified marriage certificate showing the natural parent is your spouse; AND a notarized statement the
dependent lives in your home at least 180 days per year.

Disabled Dependent
¢ For a dependent child over age twenty-six (26), the employee should contact the State Personnel
Administration at 404.656.2730 for required verification and documents.

Effective Dates for Coverage and Payroll Deductions

Coverage begins the first of the month following a full calendar month worked.
e Example: Hired March 8th; Coverage begins May 1st
¢ Payroll deductions begin first of the month following newly eligible status effective date

When an employee terminates employment before the 16th of the month:
¢ Coverage ends the last day of that month, excluding STD & LTD.*

e Example: Termed June 1st; Coverage ends June 30th

¢ Payroll deductions end effective the first of that month

When an employee terminates employment on or after the 16th of the month:
e Coverage ends the last day of the following month, excluding STD & LTD.*
e Example: Termed June 16th; Coverage ends July 31st

¢ Payroll deductions end effective the first of the following month.

*STD & LTD Exception: For Short Term Disability (STD) and Long Term Disability (LTD), coverage ends on the date of
termination. Coverage is not based on the 16th of the month rule like all other benefits.



Events Impacting Eligibility

Throughout an employee’s employment cycle, events periodically occur that may change eligibility for certain benefits,
including:

e When an employee is rehired
> Employees who return within 30 days and within the same plan year
— Coverage is reinstated with no changes
> Employees who return after 30 days or in a new plan year
— Enroll as a new hire & select different coverage

¢ When an employee transfers agencies

> If GaBreeze receives termination information (from terminating agency) before receiving eligibility information
(from new agency):
— Active coverage is immediately terminated
— Coverage continues (no enrollment) with new agency

> If GaBreeze receives eligibility information before receiving termination information:
— New agency status will be pending until termination information is received
— Once received, status is updated and coverage continues (no enroliment)

e When an employee works for multiple agencies
> Primary Agency is the employee’s first agency of employment by recorded hire date
> Employees are not allowed to choose their primary agency

¢ When an employee has a life event affecting eligibility
> Some election changes are allowed under limited conditions
> Requests must be made within 30 calendar days following the event; or 90 calendar days if the event is a birth
or adoption. For Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA) special enrollment rights, a 60
calendar day deadline applies.

Need Help?

If you need help navigating the GaBreeze Employer Web site or
have questions about any of the features described in this job
aide, you can contact the DOAS Team at 1-888-968-0490, or
404-656-2730 if calling within the metro-Atlanta area, Monday
through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time.
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