Job and Pay System

State Job Classification System

The state job classification system is grouped into 19 occupational families and is used to classify agency positions into appropriate jobs.

Job descriptions are established on an enterprise level and include 4 major components:

  • Job Summary
  • Job Responsibilities
  • Entry Qualifications
  • Competencies

Position specific information is maintained at the agency level in the employee’s job description and performance plan.

Job Summary

A short statement summarizing the most important features of a job, including the nature of the work performed (duties and responsibilities) and the work level (e.g. skill, effort, responsibility and working conditions).

Job Responsibilities

The key duties that are part of the job. Typically 70% of the responsibilities should be present in the job. Additional responsibilities and expectations should be maintained at the position level.

Entry Qualifications

Minimum education and/or experience needed for the job. Entry qualifications are established on a state level. For recruitment purposes, agencies may add position level criteria such as preferred qualifications.


The characteristics that are important to job performance: knowledge, skills, abilities, attributes, etc.